Euskal Kazeta

Basque Events

Top Basque events in the U.S.
The calendar is updated continually as information becomes available. To have your event listed, e-mail Euskal Kazeta at euskalkazeta@gmail.com.



Saturday, January 25
Dinner Dance
Salt Lake City, Utah


Sunday January 26
Odolki Jatea and Mus Tournament
South San Francisco

7 a.m. Registration Mus Tournament
8 a.m. Tournament starts
12:30 p.m. Members Free Lunch
The event is extremely popular. Make your reservations by January 21 by calling Anita Arduain at (650) 583-7018
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.
South San Francisco,

Saturday, February 1
Anaitasuna Club Mus Tournament
San Francisco

Friday, Feb. 7
Basque Film Series: Black is Beltza
South San Francisco

7:30 p.m. Admission to the film is free.
Musician Fermin Muguruza directed this animated adult film about the giants of San Fermin being invited to participate in a New York City parade and the craziness of the 1960s.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, Feb. 9
San Francisco Basque Club Mus Tournament
South San Francisco

Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 15 & 16
38th Anniversary Weekend Celebration
South San Francisco, Calif.

Handball games with players from the Basque Country
Saturday: barbecue steak dinner; Sunday lunch: rack of lamb lunch.
See weekend schedule here.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, Feb. 22
72nd Annual Ontario Basque Dinner Dance
Ontario, Oregon

Four Rivers Cultural Center
676 SW 5th Ave.

Friday March 6
Basque Film Series: Oreina
South San Francisco

Admission is free.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Friday, April 3
Basque Film Series: Pagafantas
South San Francisco

Admission is free.
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Sunday, April 5
Palm Sunday Mass and Lunch
San Francisco and South San Francisco, Calif.

9:00 a.m. Mass at Notre Dame des Victoires Church, with the Elgarrekin Choir and Klika, followed by hot chocolate and croissants at Notre Dame Church hall
566 Bush St. in San Francisco
Pilota, Lunch and Easter activities to follow at the Cultural Center
Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Saturday, March 14
Omenaldi Berezia – Bertsolari Special Tribute
South San Francisco

Five U.S. Bertsolaris will be honored at this special event that commemorates the special art of Basque poetry. Two bertsolaris from the Basque Country will also perform.
4 p.m. Bertsolari performance – Admission is free
6 p.m. Cocktails
7 p.m. Dinner tickets $50. To RSVP, email Kate Camino at info@nabasque.eus or call (775) 241-3752
Music will be provided by accordionist Mercedes Mendive

Saturday, May 2
43rd Annual Fresno Basque Festival
Madera, Calif.

Parade, folk dancing, klika, lamb barbecue, chorizo sandwiches.
9 a.m. Gates open; 11 a.m. mass; 1 – 3 p.m. barbecue
Rancho Vista del Rio
6440 N. Golden State Blvd., Madera 93722
Followed on Sunday with Basque Breakfast
Santa Fe Restaurant
3110 N. Maroa Ave., Fresno

Sunday, May 17
Los Banos Picnic
Los Banos, Calif.

Los Banos Fairgrounds
4th and F Streets

Saturday May 23 & Sunday, May 24
Kern County Basque Festival
Bakersfield, Calif.

For the full picnic schedule, click here.
Kern County Basque Club
2301 S. Union Ave.


Monday May 25
Basque breakfast
Bakersfield, Calif.

8 a.m. through the afternoon
Woolgrowers Restaurant
620 East 19th St.

Sunday, June 7
San Francisco Basque Picnic
Petaluma, Calif.

Petaluma Fairgrounds
175 Fairgrounds Dr.


Saturday and Sunday, June 13 and 14
Winnemucca Basque Festival
Winnemucca, Nev.

July 3 – 5
National Basque Festival
Elko, Nev.

Friday – 6 p.m. Kickoff on the Ormaza Block, across from the Star Hotel includes live music and dancing.
Saturday – 11 a.m. Parade in downtown Elko, followed by festivities at the Basque Clubhouse, which include dancing, weightlifting, paella and chorizo. In the evening, 9 p.m. to 12:30 a.m., dancing with Melodikoa.
Sunday – 11 a.m. Mass, followed by weight-lifting, wood chopping, dance and irrintzi competitions.

Saturday July 18
Reno Basque Festival
Reno, Nevada
Wingfield Park
300 W 1st St.

Sunday, July 19
36th Annual Gooding Basque Picnic
Gooding, Idaho

Gooding Basque Center

Tuesday, July 28 – Sunday, August 2
Jaialdi
Boise, Idaho

It’s not too early to start planning your trip to the ultimate U.S. Basque festival. It only happens once every five years.
Check their website for more info. Jaialdi.com

Saturday August 1
Mountain Home’s 57th annual Basque Picnic
Mountain Home, Idaho

Basque Park, next to Bengoechea Hotel

Saturday August 8
Gardnerville Basque Festival
Minden, Nevada
11 a.m. Meza (mass)
1 p.m. Bazkari (lunch) – BBQ lamb, chicken, lamb stew, beans, salad, cheese, ice cream & wine
3 p.m. Dantzaritaldiak (Dance group) from Mendiko Euskaldun Cluba
6 p.m. Txorizo sandwiches
8 p.m. Dantzaldi (dance);
Minden City Park
Esmeralda and 6th Street

Friday, Aug. 14
20th Annual Basque Museum Winefest
Boise, Idaho

Basque Block
600 block of Grove Street

Wednesday, September 18 – Sunday, September 29
Kern County Fair
Bakersfield, Calif. 
To volunteer to work at the Fair, contact Joey Iturriria at 661-393-3165 or e-mail Maria Toretta at mtoretta5@gmail.com.  If you would like to help preparing the food at the clubhouse, please contact Pete Urbelz  at 661-393-7690.
1142 South P St., Bakersfield, Calif.

Wednesday October 9 – Sunday, October 13
Trailing of the Sheep Festival
Hailey, Idaho

This annual festival that honors the traditions of sheepherding
always includes Basque dancing and music,
plus a celebration of other sheep traditions shared by Basque sheepherders in Idaho.

Saturday, October 12
Rocklin Basque Club Annual Besta
Lincoln, Calif.

8:00 a.m. – Mus tournament (to pre-register, email J.B. Bidegaray at Jbb49@comcast.net)
12:00 p.m. – Tri-tip lunch
1:00 p.m. – Mass
2:00 p.m. – Performances
4:00 p.m. – Weight Carrying Competition
6:00 p.m. – BBQ lamb and chicken dinner
RSVP early by calling 916-952-2511 or emailing allynt@sbcglobal.net
Tickets available at the door. For more information, call (916) 952-2511
65 McBean Park Dr., Lincoln (take a right on Hwy 193)

Saturday, Nov. 7
Mortzilla Dinner and Bazaar

Boise, Idaho

5:15 p.m. – first seating for mortzilla (blood sausage) dinner
6:30 p.m. – second seating
$15 for adults; $6 for children
Basque Center

Saturday, Dec. 19
Sheepherders Ball
Boise, Idaho

Basque Center
601 Grove St.

Thursday, Dec. 31
New Year’s Eve Gala
South San Francisco, Calif.

Basque Cultural Center
599 Railroad Ave.

Basque News
Basque Events